2022-03-17 12:00Press release

Introducing the 2022 Nominees for AAMI's Board of Directors

The AAMI Nominating Committee has selected new leaders to serve on the AAMI Board of Directors, representing a significant change in the membership of the Board. Pending confirmation from the AAMI membership, six new members will join the Board this summer, alongside current members receiving nominations for the positions of chair-elect, treasurer, vice chair positions. Two new members were also nominated to join the Nominating Committee.

“This year is special because we have six new members joining the AAMI Board of Directors, representing the biggest shift in the makeup of the Board in recent memory,” said Steve Yelton, Chair of the AAMI Board of Directors, HTM Senior Engineer, and a professor emeritus at Cincinnati State Technical & Community College. “From medical device companies to healthcare delivery organizations and now The Joint Commission, our Board of Directors and Committees come from diverse personal and professional backgrounds and, like AAMI, reach all corners of the health technology community.”

Members, make your voice heard by voting on the election of officers, directors, and members of the Nominating Committee, and for the transaction of other business that may arise. The deadline to cast your vote is May 20, 2022.

Eligible AAMI members can cast their vote online. 

The AAMI Board of Directors consists of 20 representatives who are responsible for reviewing, revising, and approving strategic and business plans; establishing and approving policies; and providing guidance on strategic issues affecting the association. The Nominating Committee reviews applications for the Board and the Nominating Committee itself.

Nominees to the Board are officially elected at AAMI’s annual business meeting at the AAMI Exchange. At that meeting, current Chair-Elect Janet Prust, Director of Standards and Global Business Development at 3M Health Care, will become Chair of the Board. The Chair and Chair-Elect serve two-year terms, while all other members of the Board and Nominating Committee serve for three years.

Nominees to the AAMI Board of Directors for terms beginning in 2022:

Walt Rosebrough
CEO Emeritus and Senior Advisor

Heidi Horn
Vice President, Healthcare Marketing Strategy

Vice-Chair, Sterilization
Ralph Basile
Vice President, Marketing and Regulatory Affairs

Vice-Chair, Health IT
Michael McNeil
Senior Vice President, Global CISO

Vice-Chair, Industry
Elisabeth George
Head of Global Regulations and Standards

Vice-Chair, At-Large
Mike Busdicker
System Director, Clinical Engineering
Intermountain Healthcare             


Barrett Franklin
Chief Operations Officer
VA New England Healthcare System

Larry Hertzler
Chief Operating Officer
The InterMed Group

Samantha Jacques
Vice President, Clinical Engineering
McLaren Health

Gerry McDonnell
Senior Director, Microbiological Quality and Sterility Assurance
Johnson & Johnson

Herman McKenzie
The Joint Commission

Liz Claverie-Williams
Consultant, Microbiologist
Retired Branch Chief, Infection Control Devices, FDA

Nominees to the AAMI Nominating Committee

Don Busby
Director, Complaints Trending and Investigation
Amgen, Inc.

James Linton
Professor and Program Coordinator
St. Clair College

AAMI would like to thank outgoing Board members for their service to AAMI and the health technology community: George Mills, Tina Krenc, Dave Francoeur, Ralph Basile, Eamonn Hoxey (immediate past chair), Sue Schade, and Carol Davis-Smith, as well as outgoing members of the Nominating Committee Jennifer DeFrancesco and Susumu Nozawa.

About AAMI

AAMI (www.aami.org) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1967. It is a diverse community of more than 10,000 healthcare technology professionals united by one important mission—supporting the healthcare community in the development, management, and use of safe and effective health technology. AAMI is the primary source of consensus standards, both national and international, for the medical device industry, as well as practical information, support, and guidance for health technology and sterilization professionals.


Brian Stallard
Digital staff editor
Brian Stallard
Gavin Stern
Editor in Chief, Director of Publications & Media Relations
Gavin Stern